The 5 Stages of Grief after Death


The Kübler-Ross model identifies the five stages of grieving, popularly known by the acronym DABDA (and can applied to any life-changing situation, not just death):

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

I remember the first night trying to sleep after my dad’s death. I was totally in Denial thinking it was all a bad dream. And after watching a detective show where they faked someone’s death to gain information, I was waiting for my dad to walk through the door saying it was all set up.

The Anger sets in every time I read my father’s mail, having to deal with all his creditors and his lack of resources to pay them.  My grandfather passed away a week after my dad died. My grandma admitted she was in the anger stage, asking why grandpa had to leave her. I can’t even fathom how lost she must feel without him after being together day in and day out for sixty years.

Then I think I bypassed the Bargaining stage and went straight from Anger to Depression.  Last month the stress wreaked havoc on my immune system, and I was sick with influenza and pneumonia. Laying in bed feeling like you got run over by a truck is definitely depressing.

But I am finally getting my mojo back, and hope to be on the road to Acceptance soon.

Image Credit.

5 Stages of Grief after DeathThe 5 Stages of Grief after Death

About the Author

Kim has been helping people save time and money online since 1998. Follow Kim's Personal Accounts on Google and Twitter. And see all of Kim's sites at

One Comment

  1. Durk Price February 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.